Saturday, June 11, 2005

Motion against Barroso: SF and DUP MEPs under pressure?

Interesting enough: although SF MEPs Bairbre de Brun and Mary Lou McDonald alongside DUP Jim Allister supported at first the motion against the EU Commmission presented by the UKIP Nigel Farage, they seemed to have all changed their minds: Mary Lou McDonald and Bairbre de Brun voted against the motion and Jim Allister chose the abstention. The Scotsman reports that "Some legislators who signed had been under pressure from their parties to remove their names, and British Conservative Roger Helmer had been expelled from the European People’s Party, the largest group in the parliament, after he publicly criticised the group’s leaders." Overall, only 35 MEPs voted in favour of the motion which was rejected.